Swedish Heritage, Hand Forged Beauty

Combining the talents of the blacksmiths at Gränsfors Bruk and designer Hans Erik Persson, Gränsfors Bruk went back to a sometimes long-forgotten knowledge to develop a range of axes that are perfect for the small-scale uses of today. The core focus has been on producing axes with sound green credentials, avoiding any unnecessary consumption of natural resources.

All the axes produced by Gränsfors Bruk are forged by hand. Any piecework arrangements have been scrapped so that the smiths can put more time into forging a good axe, removing the need for the excessive post-production work that other manufacturers might use to conceal faults in their forging. This is something that sets Gränsfors Bruk’s axes apart from axes made on an industrial scale. At Gränsfors Bruk, we don’t rush the process allowing the smiths to take their time which results in one of the finest axes you’ll see in the market.

Our axe heads need no grinding, honing or polishing, except on the cutting edge itself, and they certainly do not require painting or varnishing. Instead of using environmentally hazardous epoxy adhesive, the handles are now attached with a traditional wooden wedge, which is better not only for nature but also for the working environment. The sheath supplied with Gränsfors Bruk’s axes is made from vegetable-tanned leather.

  • Blacksmith wearing Gransfors Bruk Sweden shirt with white logo on sleeve.
  • Blacksmith firing axe head
  • Blacksmith inserting axe head into forge fire
  • Tove bar being folded
  • blacksmith firing and pressing an axe head
  • Axe head in forge

Current Blacksmiths

AS – Anders Strömstedt

BE – Emiel Besseling

CÅ – Charlie Ångman

CS – Christian Sjölund

EE – Emil Engberg Bohjort

ES – Erik Sjöström

EW – Eseyas Brhane

FS – Fredrik Skoglund

JB – Jonas Berglund

JL – Jesper Lindström

JW – Jasper Wolferen

MB – Mattias Blixt

MF – Martin Forslund

MS – Mikael Sundberg

OE – Oscar Eliasson

RO – Roine Olofsson

TE – Tom Eneroth

UN – Ulrik Nilsson

YT – Yohannes Tsegai

Blacksmith sheathing an axe

Axe production at Gränsfors Bruk

is based on five fundamentals:

  • An axe is only as good as the accumulated skills of the people who forge, grind and attach the handle to the axe.All our axes are made by human hand. And all these people deserve great respect and recognition for their professional expertise. Our company would be nothing without them.
  • Smarter production requires fewer natural resources and imbues a product with better quality and a longer life. A longer product life in turn decreases the overall consumption of natural resources and reduces waste.
  • Every unnecessary step in axe production should be stripped out. Unnecessary grinding, polishing, painting and use of epoxy adhesive for the handle has been eliminated. This makes for a better working environment, lower energy consumption and less of an impact on nature.
  • We have unlimited responsibility for Total Quality. Working conditions, product quality and concern for nature are just some factors determining Total Quality. Others include humanity, ethics and beauty.
  • Sound knowledge of a product increases its value and life. The axe user therefore needs information – The Axe Book is one source, courses and Gränsfors Axe Museum are others.
double bit axe in handle wedger


Bert-Ove Andersson
Janne Mattsson
Glenn Markusson
Kristian Andersson
Erik Hansson
Erik Hedström
Tommy Jonsson


Bert-Ove Andersson
Janne Mattsson
Glenn Markusson
Kristian Andersson
Erik Hansson
Erik Hedström
Tommy Jonsson


Katarina Larsson
Rose-Marie Jansson
Ida Snell
Stefan Woxberg
Saeed Karimizadeh


Rose-Marie Jansson
Ida Snell
Patrik Hansson




Ulrika forges an axe head

Ulrika Stridesburg

Ulrika's Signature mark

Ulrika Stridesburg has a solid education in blacksmithing and has worked as a professional blacksmith for more than 20 years. For many years, she has had a close relationship with Gränsfors Bruk, focusing on axes and general blacksmithing.

The Gränsfors Swedish Viking knife is forged by Ulrika Stridsberg. 


Ulrika’s signature mark contains her initials US with a circular tail on the s.

Ritter at work in the forge

Sam Ritter

Sam's brand

Sam Ritter has a solid background as a professional blacksmith and for several years has worked in close collaboration with Gränsfors Bruk, focusing on axe forging, general blacksmithing and as instructor for the Gränsfors Bruk forging courses.

The Gränsfors Tomahawk was developed by Sam Ritter and is forged by experienced smiths in the North Hälsingland Blacksmith Guild. Sam is co-founder of and journeyman smith in the North Hälsingland Blacksmith Guild.

Sam’s signature mark contains three triangles.

Fredrick Thelin // Photo by Jack Waygood

Fredrik Thelin


Fredrik Thelin, founder of the guild and master blacksmith, has been working as a professional blacksmith for more than 25 years and served his apprenticeship at Gränsfors Bruk.

Over the years, Fredrik has worked in close collaboration with Gränsfors Bruk, with a focus on axes, forging and as a course leader for the forging courses.


Fredrick’s Signature Mark is a circle with radiating lines.


Hannes Thelin

Hannes Stamp

A third generation Blacksmith, Hannes Thelin’s grandfather and father both forged at Gränsfors Bruk. Hannes is a member of the North Hälsingland Blacksmith Guild.

You can see Hannes latest work on Instagram.

Hannes’ signature mark is a ram with a curled horn.


AM – Anders Magnusson

BK – Beyene Kahsai

CK – Claudia Kowalek

CM – Christoffer Malm 

DE – Daniel Eriksson

DF – David Faxby

DG – Daniel Gräntz

DP – Domingo Gas Pallarés

EB – Erik Blixt

HD – Henrik Danielsson

HF – Frank Håkan

IB – Ina Beckman

IB – Joakim Iversen Bryant

JE – Joakim Eriksson

JH – John Hårdsten

JMH – Jessica Hassel

KB – Kyle Benkwitz

KS – Kjell-Åke Sjölund

LE – Lars Enander

LH – Linus Hejmer

LP – Lennart Pettersson

MH – Marcus Hulin

MM – Mattias Mattsson

PE – Per Eriksson

PH – Patrik Hansson

PJA – Paul James Alford

PW – Per Walldin


RA – Rune Andersson

SB – Simon Beyeler

TA – Tomas Andersson

TP – Tobias Persson

TT – Tobias Thelin

TV – Alexander Thomas Viktor Mattsson

WE – Erika Widarsson